500 – 1765 West 8th Avenue Vancouver BC Canada V6J 5C6 www.cdsbc.org

Phone 604 736 3621 Toll Free 1 800 663 9169 Fax 604 734 9448



About CDSBC

The College of Dental Surgeons of British Columbia (CDSBC) registers, certifies and regulates more than 3000 dentists and 5600 certified dental assistants (CDAs) in the public interest.

Our regulatory mandate as a self-governing profession stems from the B.C. *Health Professions Act*, Regulations and CDSBC Bylaws made under the Act.

We fulfill our mandate by:

- setting requirements to practice;
- establishing, monitoring and enforcing standards of conduct and care;
- investigating complaints regarding dental care and treatment and taking appropriate action; and
- monitoring the continuing education of dentists and CDAs registered and certified in B.C.

Governance and Operations

The College is governed by an 18-member Board that includes 10 dentists and two certified dental assistants. Six public members are appointed by the provincial government.

The day-to-day operations of the College are managed by a Registrar who, in collaboration with 23 staff, ensures the organization functions smoothly.

In addition, about 100 CDAs, dentists and members of the public volunteer their time each year on 10 standing committees and working groups. Working groups are established by the board on an as-needed basis to deal with specific or time-limited matters. These committees and groups serve under the direction of the board, with support from senior and administrative College staff.

Volunteering

Interested practitioners are encouraged to contact the College about adding their name to the organization's volunteer roster. The College contacts members of their roster when specific skills or interests are required for committees and working groups or to provide support for, or input to, specific initiatives.



Standing College committees include:

- Audit
- CDA Advisory
- CDA Certification
- Discipline
- Ethics
- Inquiry
- Nominations
- Quality Assurance
- Registration
- Sedation and General Anaesthetic Services

Dental Electoral Districts

Dental Electoral Districts are determined by the board under the authority of the *Health Professions Act*. All dentists who practice within the boundaries of a board-established dental electoral district belong to that district and may vote in board elections accordingly.

The following are recognized dental electoral districts of the College:

Fraser Valley – County of Westminster excluding the Municipalities of Burnaby, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam and the City of New Westminster.

North – Counties of Prince Rupert, portion of County of Cariboo north of 51st parallel, portion of County of Vancouver north of 50.5 parallel and west of Bute Inlet.

Southern Interior – Counties of Yale and Kootenay, and portion of the county of Cariboo south of the 51st parallel.

Vancouver – Counties of Vancouver excluding portion north of 50.5 parallel and west of Bute Inlet and excluding the District Municipality of Powell River and that portion of the County of Westminster lying west and north of the Fraser River and the Pitt River.

Vancouver Island – Counties of Victoria and Nanaimo, plus the district municipality of Powell River.