

Board Highlights 8 December 2012

Board highlights are an unofficial summary of the open portion of CDSBC Board meetings. Official records can be found in the minutes, which are posted after they are approved at the following Board meeting.

2013/14 Budget and Renewal Fees*

The Board approved the 2013/14 budget, which reflects the regulatory costs necessary for the College to fulfill its mandate. Those costs have been on the rise since the College came under the *Health Professions Act* in 2009. The most significant costs result from the changing regulatory environment, and are related to complaints and discipline, including:

- Increase in complaints the College is on track to receive over 250 complaints in 2012/13, compared to 146 in 2008/09
- Cases appealed to the Health Professions Review Board approximately 7% of closed complaint files are appealed to this administrative tribunal
- Discipline hearings up to five are expected in 2013/14, at a cost of approximately \$830,000
- Additional staffing to handle the caseload of complaint files

The budget includes a \$250 renewal fee increase for practising dentists, a \$10 increase for practising CDAs, and a 25% increase to all other fees and administrative charges. Additional explanation of the budget and renewal fee increase can be found in the <u>letter that was sent to all dentists and CDAs from CDSBC's President and Treasurer</u>.

Although the complaints and discipline function is CDSBC's single biggest cost driver, the budget supports all the core regulatory functions as outlined in CDSBC's new strategic plan.

National Conference on Addiction Disease in Dentistry

"On the Road to Wellness: Dealing with Addiction Disease in Dentistry" was a two-day conference hosted by the Canadian Dental Regulatory Authorities Federation (CDRAF) in October. President Peter Stevenson-Moore and Registrar Jerome Marburg gave a brief overview of the conference, which addressed how regulators should respond to cases where the registrant suffers from addiction or other medical impairments. Presenters included Dr. Graeme Cunningham, a



former president of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, whose personal life and career were damaged by his own addiction.

Addiction carries an added stigma for addicted healthcare professionals, and there is growing recognition by health regulators that addiction must be treated as a disease, for which recovery pathways separate and apart from complaints and discipline exist.

It is important to increase awareness of the disease, identify those in need of treatment, and provide that treatment as soon as possible. There is also need to develop a network of professionals willing to provide locum services to maintain a practice while the dentist receives treatment. The College is in discussion with CDSPI, the primary insurance provider for dentists, and the BC Dental Association (including the Dental Professional Advisory Program) as well as its CDRAF colleagues to enhance recovery pathways provincially and at the national level.

National Report on Botox and Dermal Fillers

The Board received the <u>report by the national Ad Hoc Committee on Botulinum Toxin and Dermal Fillers in Dental Practice</u>. The committee's mandate was to summarize what a dentist can or cannot do with respect to botulinum toxin and dermal fillers, and what, if any, training/education are required to administer these substances. The committee did not address the political, ethical or legal aspects involved.

Dentists in B.C. are permitted to administer Botox as outlined in CDSBC's document <u>Schedule 1 Drugs and Dentists Scope of Practice</u>, but dermal fillers are currently outside the scope of practice for general dentists and can only be used in limited circumstances by trained and recognized specialists. The report will be considered by CDSBC's Quality Assurance Committee.

CDSBC Board Governance Manual

Raewyn Brewer of Watson Advisors presented the CDSBC Board Governance Manual for approval. She explained that the manual represents a progressive approach to governance, with clearly defined roles and responsibilities for CDSBC's Board, committees, Executive Officers, and Registrar.

The CDSBC Board Governance Manual was approved by the Board, and it will be published on the College's website after final edits are made. It will now be up to the Board and staff to implement the provisions contained in the governance



manual, and to continue to update it as necessary. Updates will be forwarded to the Governance Working Group to consider.

Board Member Appointments

The Board approved the membership of two working groups:

- Governance: Dr. David Tobias (Chair), Ms. Melanie Crombie, Mr. Rick Lemon and Dr. Kerim Ozcan
- Finance and Audit: Mr. Tony Soda (Chair), Dr. Bob Coles, Mr. Dan De Vita, Dr. Erik Hutton, Dr. David Tobias, Dr. David Zaparinuk

Workshop Follow-up: Public Disclosure of the Outcome of Complaint Investigations and Discipline Decisions

On December 7, the Board attended a workshop led by Howard Kushner, who served as B.C.'s Ombudsman for seven years and authored the 2003 report <u>"Self Governance in the Health Professions: The Ombudsman's Perspective."</u> The focus of the workshop was the complex interrelationship between fairness/integrity of investigatory processes and the clear public and professional interest in openness and transparency. The workshop addressed legislative requirements for publication of complaints and discipline outcomes, publication trends among professions in B.C., and options for publication of complaints that are dismissed.

Staff will use the outcomes of the workshop to prepare a draft publication policy for review by the Board.

2013 CDSBC Award Winners*

The Board approved the list of 2013 award winners as proposed by the Nominations (Awards) Committee:

- Honoured Member Award: Dr. Ron Smith
- Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Don Anderson, Dr. Bob Coles, Ms. Rosie Friesen
- Award of Merit: Ms. Nadine Bunting, Dr. Ken Chow, Dr. Karl Denk, Dr. Warren Ennis, Dr. Patricia Hunter, Dr. David Lawson, Dr. Scott Stewart, Dr. David Vogt (PhD)
- Special Group Award Infection Prevention and Control Working Group: Dr. Elizabeth Bryce, Ms. Nadine Bunting, Dr. Leeann Donnelly (PhD), Dr. Edward Putnins, Ms. Allison Ransier, Dr. Mel Sawyer, Dr. Steven Wedan



*Indicates an item that was included in the in-camera portion of the meeting. Outcomes of the Board's decisions are summarized here for the purposes of communication.